zman’s Energy Brain

oil, gas, stocks, etc…

  • Blog Stats

    • 101,683 hits
  • Seeking Alpha Certified
  • Hello and Welcome - I’ve created this blog for the purpose of discussing energy related topics - primarily but not limited to oil and natural gas - and their potential impact on stocks, options, and futures. I am an amateur investor/trader and make no assurances about the opinions expressed on this blog. Please consult your financial advisor before buying, selling, borrowing, or otherwise risking capital based upon ideas taken from this site. Any advice construed from this website is worth what you paid me for it.
  • RSS Subscribe with a reader

  • Subscribe via RSS with

    Powered by FeedBurner

  • pfblogs.org logo

Christmas Eve & The Joys of Dog Ownership

Posted by zmann on December 24, 2006

It’s 2:30 in the morning on Christmas Eve.

Why am I awake?

  • Is it the fresh sanctions against Iran that are sure to produce fist shaking threats and higher oil on Tuesday?
  • Is it the doubling of natural gas bills for the poor Georgians in the dead of winter at the power hungry hands of Putin?
  • Am I just hungry?

Oh no, while these are valid concerns they wouldn’t have me up at 2:30 (actually I got up at 2:06) on Christmas Eve.

No, this morning I  was wrested from slumber by a fireworks show in my den. My bedroom is down the hall, around a corner and through the kitchen and my bed faces away from the door but nevertheless I could here popping and hissing noises coupled with yellow and white lightning-like flashes.

Given all the clatter, I arose yelling oh (expletive deleted), oh (expletive deleted), oh (expletive deleted) to see what was the matter.

It wasn’t Nigerian rebels. Nor Santa arriving a day early and lighting M80s before the hearth.

It was a den hung thick with acrid smoke just above the heads of my dogs who cowered sheepishly in the corner opposite a flaming electrical outlet. Not one of them admitted to having peed on the outlet but the telltale pool beneath it gave them away.

As my wife calmly handed me the fire extinguisher and urged me to use it on the wall and not the dogs my thoughts ranged from getting my family (except for the dogs) out of the house to how one goes about getting an electrician on the Sunday before Christmas. In the end, the old plank wood paneling never quite ignited and the only loss was the outlet itself and the child safety plugs within which were spat on the floor like some discarded works by Dali.

As I type this now I think about how I don’t have a smoke alarm in that part of the house, how my dogs are likely to be sleeping in the gararge until I can pay someone to take them off my hands but mostly how fortunate my family is tonight.

Good night and God bless. And have a Merry Christmas! We certainly will!

3 Responses to “Christmas Eve & The Joys of Dog Ownership”

  1. ramana said

    I am glad everything and everybody was ok.
    Merry Christmas zman.

    Wish you and your family (and the extended ones on this blog) a healthy and prosperous new year

    — ramana

  2. Good to hear it was not worse and eveybody was ok.

    Merry Christmas all, and God bless,

    -SaneO

  3. Sullyman said

    It takes a special kind of person to relate an event like that in such a humorous way 😉 Glad it was only a funny story, and not something more serious.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
